Association Day 2017

With the sun shining and the cricket squares in pristine condition Association Day 2017 promised to be entertaining and fun for all those concerned and it did not disappoint.

Date: Thu 6 Jul 2017   Author: Lyonian Office   Category: General   Share: Share on facebookShare on TwitterShare on PinterestShare by Email

With both cricket teams and tennis players in action it was non stop activity from 1pm when the first ball was bowled.

Cricket: Four Old Lyonian cricket teams took on the best of the School cricketers including the very successful Under 15’s and 1st XI teams. The results reflected how hard both sides all fought for glory with the OLs victorious in three of the four matches.


U13's v Mike Christelow’s X1                       

OL's 160-8 Michael Geelan 50*

U13's 106-6

OL's win by 54 runs

30 Over match



U14's v John Blake X1

U14's 128 all out OL's 129-5

OL's win by 5 wickets

25 Over match



U15's v Ben Gill X1

OL's 186-8

U15's 110 all out

OL's win by 76 runs

30 Over match



1st X1 v Neerav Trivedi X1

1st X1 174

OL's 75 all out James Francis 5-10

School win by 99 runs

30 Over match




Tennis: Only the second year for the 140 Year Anniversary Tennis Tournament and it was fantastic to see so many participants enjoying the excellent tennis facilities now available for the boys at Sudbury.


Doubles: Jeffrey Gallow (OL) & Daryl beat Mr Shah and Darshan

Boys Singles: Seb Langdon beat Darshan Shah

Parent/Pupil doubles: Mr Shah and Darshan beat Mrs Langdon and Seb - retired



Spectators and players enjoyed a vast array of food with Cricket Teas, and the Wimbledon Cream Teas prepared and served by a wonderful group of volunteers. The evening presentation was followed by a BBQ at the Lyonian Pavilion with the sun setting on a wonderful day, and teams already confirmed for Association Day 2018.


The 2017 Old Lyonian Cricket Teams:

Mike Christelow X1

Mike Christelow (C)

Mike Geelan

Steve Gamble

Jon Jones

Simon Vessey

Andy Bryan

Steve Dunning

Mike Lench

Brian Holgate

Andy Marsden-Jones

Mike Christelow

Daniel Connolly

David Levy-Beard


John Blake X1

John Blake (C)

Andy Burgess

Mike Smith

Steve Hallam

Graham Brown

Sean Mcilvelly

Pete Kalhan + 1

Chris Barron

Sai Balasubramanian

Faizan Haq

Paul Todd + 1


Ben Gill X1

Ben Gill (Capt)

Gurpreet Dhami

Adam Gill

Dev Chauhan

Jilan Shah

Michael Morriarty

Simon Gill

Rahul Channaria

Neil Changela

David Jones

Minesh Shon


Neerav Trivedi X1

Neerav Trivedi (C)

Neal Kanabar

Seerone Kandasamy

Dhruv Maru (WK)

Josh Banks

Aakash Patel

Aryan Devani

Kellen Ghelani

Daniel Collins-Redrado

Alex Bell

Aeron Obeng Marnu

Dishanth Satkunarajah (WK)